Name		Date of Appointment			Date of Assumption of Office		
VISCOUNT MONCK, G.C.M.G. LORD LISGAR, G.C.M.G. The EARL OF DUFFERIN, K.P., K.C.B., G.C.M.G. The MARQUIS OF LONDE, K.T., G.C.M.G. Cord STANDEY OF PRESTON, G.C.M.G. The EARL OF MINFORM, K.T., G.C.M.G. The EARL OF MINFO, G.C.M.G. EARL GREY, G.C.M.G. FIRLD MARSHAL H.R.H. The DURE OF CONNAUGHT, K.G. THE DUF OF DEVONSHIRE, K.G., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O. GENERAL THE LORD BYNG OF VIMY, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., W.V.O. VIECOUNT WILLINGEON OF RATTON, G.C.S.I., G.C.L.E., G.B.E. THE EARL OF ELSFIELD, G.C.M.G., C.V.O., C.H. MAJOR-GENERAL THE EARL OF AFHLONE, K.G., P.C., G.C.B., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., D.S.O. FIELD MARSHAL VIECOUNT ALEXANDER OF TUNIS, K.G., G.C.M.G., G.C.W.G., C.S.I., D.S.O., M.C., A.D.C., The Right HONOURABLE VINCENT MASSEY, C.H.	Dec. May Oct. Aug. May July Sept. Mar. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Apr.	29, 22, 5, 18, 1, 22, 30, 26, 21, 19, 2, 5, 9, 10, 3, 1,	1893 1898 1904 1911 1916 1921 1926 1931	July Feb. June Nov. Oct. June Sept. Nov. Dec. Oct. Nov. Aug. Oct. Apr. Feb.	2, 25, 25, 25, 23, 11, 18, 12, 10, 13, 11, 2, 4, 2, 21, 12,	1869 1872 1878 1883 1893 1893 1898 1904 1911 1916 1921 1926 1931 1935 1940 1940	

## 2.-Governors General of Canada since Confederation

The Cabinet.—The Cabinet is a committee of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada and is responsible to Parliament. By convention, the members of the Cabinet are members of either the House of Commons or the Senate. Normally, most of the Cabinet members have seats in the House of Commons; at July 15, 1954, the Leader of the Government in the Senate (who was also Solicitor General) and the newly appointed Transport Minister were the only members not in the House of Commons.

The Cabinet initiates nearly all public Bills placed before Parliament and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the representatives of the people. Its members are chosen by the Prime Minister and each generally assumes charge of one of the various departments of government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time, or may be without portfolio.

Ministry	Prime Minister	Length of Administration			
1 2 3 4 5	Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald. Hon. Alexander Mackenzie. Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald. Hon. Sir John Joseph Caldwell Abrott. Rt. Hon. Sir John Sparkow David Thomfson.	Nov. 7, 1873 – Oct. 16, 1878 Oct. 17, 1878 – June 6, 1891 June 16, 1891 – Nov. 24, 1892 Dec. 5, 1892 – Dec. 12, 1894			
4 5 6 7 8 9	Hon. Sir MACKENZIE BOWELL. Hon. Sir CHARLES TUPPER. Rt. Hon. Sir WILFRID LAURIER. Rt. Hon. Sir ROBERT LAIRD BORDEN.	May 1, 1896 - July 8, 1896 July 11, 1896 - Oct. 6, 1911			
10	Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden	Oct. 10, 1911 - Oct. 12, 1917 (Conservative Administration) Oct. 12, 1917 - July 10, 1920 (Unionist Administration)			
11	Rt. Hon. ARTHUR MEIGHEN.	July 10, 1920 - Dec. 29, 1921 (Unionist''National Liberal and Conservative Party'')			
12 13 14 15 16 17	Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen. Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King. Rt. Hon. Richard Bedrord Bennett. Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King. Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurent.	Dec. 29, 1921 - June 28, 1926 June 29, 1926 - Sept. 25, 1926 Sept. 25, 1926 - Aug. 6, 1930 Aug. 7, 1930 - Oct. 23, 1935			

## **3.**—Prime Ministers since Confederation